Presentation Night 2022

Monbulk Football Netball Club Presentation Night 2022 ? ? ?

On Friday evening our players, sponsors, coaches and supporters dressed up to celebrate the year! It was a great night and further highlighted just how special Monbulk Football Netball Club is.

The Jennings medal began as the Reg Jennings Snr. Memorial Trophy in 1965 to honour Reg who had passed away in 1964. Reg had come to Monbulk in 1947 to farm some land by the Sassafras Creek on Emerald-Monbulk Road. His four sons, Maurie, Ron, Max and Reg jnr all began playing with Monbulk that year. Reg Senior also involved himself at the Monbulk Football Club and was club president in 1949 and 1950. Ron (1968-70) and Maurie (1986-87) also went on to become club presidents. Maurie and Reg jnr. were very good footballers and were both inducted into the inaugural Hall Of Fame in 2008. A third generation of Jennings represented the club from the 1960s to 1980s when Andy, Dave, John and Paul Jennings pulled on the jumper for the club while Wendy and Gail played with the netball club for many years. Fourth generation descendants have continued to represent the club with Grant Dennison, Steven Oates, Rachael Jennings and Tara Donald amongst others. To recognise the contribution of this family, the Senior Best & Fairest is now known simply as the Jennings Medal.

Seniors ?
Best & Fairest (Jennings Medal) – Glenn Strachan
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Lochlan Beecroft
Best & Fairest Third -Tom Taylor
Most Improved – Bailey Rutherford
Best Team Player – Dylan Werts
Best First Year Player – Ben Grimes

Reserves ?
Best & Fairest – Josh Rak
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Matthew James
Most Consistent – Chris Separovic
Most Improved – Tom Trezise

Under 19s ?
Best & Fairest – Riley Finlay
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Max Thornton
Best Clubman – Coby Passingham
Most Consistent – William Henderson
Coach’s Award – Jed Noar
Most Valuable Finals Player – Tully Ford

Best & Fairest – Molly Horne
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Maddison Dodd
Most Valuable Finals Player – Maddison Dodd
Most Consistent – Indy Bakker
Most Determined – Shania Turner
Most Committed – Claire Scully

Shayne Broekhof was instrumental in the formation of the first netball team by the Monbulk Football Club in 2005. She went on to be the first captain, coach and Best & Fairest winner. She shared the coaching with Bec Finlay in 2006 when the club won their only A Grade premiership. Shayne became the first netballer to pass 200 games at Monbulk and would coach as well as play in just about every season, which included further A Grade coaching stints in 2010 and 2014. As a result of her long commitment, Shayne became the first Life Member of the club for their contribution with the netball teams in 2016. Also in 2016 Shayne was the equal first netballer, along with Melinda Whitworth, to be inducted into the club Hall Of Fame. In 2018 it was decided by the club committee that the A Grade Best & Fairest Award would be known as the Shayne Broekhof Medal.

A Grade ?
Best & Fairest (Shayne Broekhof Medal) – Paige Whitworth
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Nicole Macdowell
Coach’s Award – Sophie Stubbs

B Grade ?
Best & Fairest – Georgia Himmelreich
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Bonnie Munday
Coach’s Award – Alice McCormick

C Grade ?
Best & Fairest – Courtney Witt
Best & Fairest Runner Up – Tasha Selby
Coach’s Award – Jamie “Hoops” Hicken

Best Club Person – Joel Smith
President’s Award – Rod Turpin

Once again, thank you to every single person that has supported our club in one way or another across this season, you are very appreciated ??

** Please note that our usual social media representative was not present at Presentation night, and therefore photos within this article were submitted by players 🙂

Leave a Reply